TON Forums | Classifieds | Gallery | Links | Weather | Home   || OEM parts & online schematics || Cycle Gear
TON Logo
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#92787 - 03/14/04 08:34 PM getting the boy started
newmxmom Offline

Loc: Flower Mound
Hey there ladies and/or gentlemen. I am new to this, so forgive any ramblings that I might do. I have recently... in the past 2 mths, gotten my 11 yr old boy a xr80. Truly, neither he nor I know much about how to ride the bike, but he does have some of the very basics down. I was wondering if anyone out there could recommend a good track or riding place that is kid friendly, the people there might be willing to help with any questions that I or he may have and is not terribly technical where he can do some real practicing. Since I don't ride, it would need to be a place that's good for rider trial and error. I am in the DFW area. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#92788 - 03/18/04 01:28 AM Re: getting the boy started [Re: newmxmom]
SUZUKIQ Offline
Gang Boss

Loc: Schertz, Tx
I surprised no one from the DFW area has chimed in yet. I don't have any advice on areas near you since I'm near San Antonio. I do think it's cool that you're letting him get into riding. My son's first bike was an XR80 when he was 10. I started him out at a housing construction site when everything had just been leveled and was still all dirt. Gave him plenty of room to learn stopping, starting, and shifting without worrying about obstacles. Gradually increased the difficulty level as he got better. He's 18 now and can smoke me at will. Anyway, welcome to the dirt bike world and I hope someone else can give you some good suggestions on places to ride.

#92789 - 03/19/04 12:26 AM Re: getting the boy started [Re: SUZUKIQ]
Tominator Offline
Poet At Large

The XR should be perfect. We've gone through a couple of those with my sons.

Depending on what part of the DFW area you're in, fun places may be fairly close.