TON Forums | Classifieds | Gallery | Links | Weather | Home   || OEM parts & online schematics || Cycle Gear
TON Logo
Topic Options
#592803 - 08/11/17 11:40 AM Transitioning to New Terrain...advice?
Ken Allhands Offline

Loc: Liberty Hill, TX
Hello All...noob to the board looking for a bit of guidance.

I'm a vet rider (late forties, 225 lbs.) with a son who is getting into pee-wees in a big way (thanks, Little Speedsters). His interest is getting me back into the dirt.

However, all of my riding experience came from my time in the woods, trails or frozen lakes of Michigan. Mud...sand...tight pines...soft terrain. In that world, the KDX200 or the KTM200EXC were the go-to bikes for those who occasionally chose to get aggressive while still being able to ride with the family. If adding vet-moto, the list expanded to a YZ250 with a torque pipe and flywheel weight. Everyone kept a spare set of wheels with studded tires for ice riding.

So, now I'm in Liberty Hill, looking at brush, cactus patches, open rocky terrain, and mud only being an option after a surprise rain. I'm clueless at what the appropriate go-to bike for this region would be, much less what tire selections would be appropriate for this ground.

Thoughts from the peanut gallery on what I should be looking at down here for my "do-it-all" bike in this new, hot, dry place? Tire recommendations? Anything I need to keep in mind that wouldn't occur to an Eastern-enduro guy?

Thanks in advance for any input.

#592821 - 08/13/17 09:39 PM Re: Transitioning to New Terrain...advice? [Re: Ken Allhands]
Danger16 Offline
Gang Member

Loc: Fort Worth, TX