TON Forums | Classifieds | Gallery | Links | Weather | Home   || OEM parts & online schematics || Cycle Gear
TON Logo
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#3177 - 08/12/02 08:53 PM Re: Well meaning friends [Re: walton4]
samiam Offline
Veteran Lunatic

Loc: Lockhart, TX
I just started riding last July and have loved it since the first time I got on a bike. My husband has been my biggest support along with some of my friends. Our parents are a different story. My husband and my daughter just got their bikes 3 weeks ago. We went back and forth on buying one for our daughter. She is 6 going on 7 in November and loves going places with us, especially the theme parks to ride the roller coasters. (She will ride anything that flips, twists and turns). After going to a couple of races and family days and seeing how many families are involved in this sport and how everyone watches out for the little ones, we decided to buy her a bike. She has been riding for 2 weeks around the house and just loves it. She will put everything else down to be able to ride. We are teaching her how to take care of her bike and her gear and she knows she doesnt ride without her helmet, pads, and boots, and she is not allowed to ride without us out there with her. We have been really nervouse about letting family know she has a bike because we dont want to hear how dangerous it is. She was involved in gymnastics and could just as easily fallen off the beam or bars and broken something. Since my dad used to ride trials and started about the same age I am now, he has no problem with us riding. He actually thinks its wonderful that we are doing this, especially as a family. My inlaws will be a different thing all together. They are the ones we will have to break it to gently. As for our friends, we have gotten mixed reactions but nothing too terribly bad. They know how much I enjoy it and also that we will teach her the safe way to ride and set rules and guidelines for her. I, personally dont see