TON Forums | Classifieds | Gallery | Links | Weather | Home   || OEM parts & online schematics || Cycle Gear
TON Logo
Topic Options
#209867 - 01/04/06 07:41 PM New and don't know a whole lot
txgrl77 Offline
Old Boot

Loc: arlington, tx
Hello,

I'm new to the sport. Live in the DFW area - arlington to be more exact. My kids just got a pw50 for christmas. They are 6, 4 and 3 yrs old. The took to it really quickly and we are ready for another bike - we just don't know which one. Maybe a TTR50 for my 6 yr old? He's a little over 4ft and about 70 lbs.

I haven't taken them to any tracks or even any trails, just open areas that i can find. I found village creek mx over near everman and they have a 50 track which sounds interesting, has anyone gone there? Any advice/suggestions would be good and really appreciated.

Sorry I'm not very detailed, I'm at work and trying to not spend too much time today doing this sort of stuff

Thanks,

Steph

#209868 - 01/05/06 12:24 AM Re: New and don't know a whole lot [Re: txgrl77]
51racing Offline
TON Member

Loc: Allen,TX
Welcome to the sport. I have three kids ages 8,6 and 4. They all have started out on the PW50. My 6 and 8 year moved up to CRF50/XR50's (same bike just different years by Honda) afer a few months on the PW50. The TTR50 is relatively new to the market but I have only heard positive things about them. The kids love the e-start on the TTR50. I do not know this for a fact but it seems the TTR50 is a little faster than the CRF50. In my opinion, you can not go wrong with either the TTR50 or CRF50 or an older model XR50.

I have been to Village Creek a couple of times. The peewee track was small but my son had a blast riding. You may also want to check out www.justforkidscyclepark.com. I have not been there but it sounds like it would be fun for the kids in a controlled environment.

Hope this helps. Feel free to email or PM me.

Thanks. Gary

#209869 - 01/09/06 02:23 PM Re: New and don't know a whole lot [Re: txgrl77]